Product has been added to the basket

2024 awards and funds winners

We are delighted to announce the names of the 2024 winners of our awards, medals and funds, and offer all recipients our heartiest congratulations.

Below is the full list of award winners honoured for their contributions to the geosciences and the geoscience profession.

Wollaston Medal
  Prof Trond Helge Torsvik, University of Oslo
Lyell Medal    Prof Lynne Frostick CBE, University of Hull
Murchison Medal    Prof David Pyle, University of Oxford
William Smith Medal    Dr Jacqueline Skipper, Geotechnical Consulting Group LLP
Sue Tyler Friedman Medal 
PD Dr Martina Kölbl-Ebert, Ludwig-Maximilian University Munich 
Dewey Medal
  Prof Rob Strachan, University of Portsmouth
Coke Medal   Prof Iain Stewart, Royal Scientific Society, Jordan
Distinguished Service Award   Jennifer Brzozowska, Oil and Gas Authority (Retired)
R H Worth Medal   Prof John Howell, University of Aberdeen 
Bigsby Medal    Prof Daniela Schmidt, University of Bristol 
Wollaston Fund    Dr Jennifer Jenkins, Durham University 
Lyell Fund    Dr Leonardo Muniz Pichel, University of Bergen 
Murchison Fund    Dr Lara Mani, Centre for the Study of Existential Risk, University of Cambridge 
William Smith Fund    Dr Luke Wedmore, Verisk Extreme Event Solutions 
President’s Award   Princess Aira Buma-at , Department of Zoology and Museum of Zoology, University of Cambridge 
President’s Award    Mónica Alejandra Gómez Correa, Universität Hamburg and Geolatinas