Product has been added to the basket

National Schools Geology Challenge

2020 National Schools Geology Challenge

The 2020 National Schools Geology Challenge took place online. Wells Cathedral School won the presentation prize, with Saffron Walden County High School taking home the poster prize, and Sheffield High School for Girls coming top in the quiz. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!

About the Challenge

The Geological Society Schools Challenge is a competition for students of Geology, Geography and Science who are in years 12/13 (England and Wales), 13/14 (Northern Ireland) and S5/S6 (Scotland). Students compete in teams to win a years’ Fellowship to the Society, a trophy, and a cash prize to use towards geoscience learning in their school.

For 2021, both the Heats and the Final will take place virtually. The challenge will be restructured to accommodate this, and further details will be announced in September 2020.

If you would like to enter the competition, please contact You can read about previous challenges on our blog.

Previous winners


  • Winning school: Altrincham Grammar School
  • Best presentation: Methodist College Belfast
  • Best poster: Aylesbury Grammar School


  • Winning school: Aylesbury Grammar School
  • Best presentation: Saffron Walden School
  • Best poster: Wells Cathedral School


  • Winning school: Whitchurch High School
  • Best presentation: Aylesbury Grammar School
  • Best poster: Altrincham Grammar School


  • Winning school: Altrincham Grammar School
  • Best presentation: Wells Cathedral School
  • Best poster: Methodist College Belfast


  • First place: Sir William Borlase School
  • Second place: Wells Cathedral School
  • Third place: Whitchurch High School


  • Winning school: Wells Cathedral School
  • Finalists: Reading Blue Coat School and Gower College


  • Winning school: Wells Cathedral School
Early Career Geologist Award

The Early Career Geologist Award, is a competition aimed at geoscientists in the early stages of their careers. Find out more about the Early Career Award here.