Product has been added to the basket

New Honorary Fellows for 2019

We are delighted to announce three new Honorary Fellows for 2019. Honorary Fellowship has been an important part of the membership of the Geological Society since it was founded. Our Honorary Fellows are recognised for their achievements and potential, not only in science but as ambassadors for geological science and its promotion to the wider public.

Dr Yildirim Dilek

Dr Yildirim Dilek, University Distinguished Professor in the Department of Geology and Environmental Earth Science at Miami University, is an advocate of interdisciplinary and international science, and a major contributor to the global geoscience community.

Not only a highly productive academic researcher and journal editorial board member, he spends a great deal of time and effort serving as a science ambassador around the globe.

Professor Eric Odada

Professor Odada is Professor of Geology at the University of Nairobi and Regional Director of the Global Change Research Programme in Africa, and has both a national and international reputation in the field of geoscience and sustainable development.

As an Honorary Fellow, he will be eager to share his perspectives and experience in using geoscience to inform international policy and support society.

Professor Khin Zaw

Professor Khin Zaw, Professor of Economic Geology at CODES Centre of Ore Deposits and Earth Sciences in the School of Natural Sciences at the University of Tasmania, is the pre-eminent mineral deposits geologist in South East Asia.

In 2016, he founded the Myanmar Applied Earth Sciences Association with Dr Yin Yin Nwe. MAESA provides a forum and support for Myanmar geoscientists, and also arranges conferences and workshops with the aim of promoting the geosciences and mineral resources of Myanmar and collaboration with foreign geoscientists, mineral companies and geoscience organisations such as this Society.