Product has been added to the basket

Hydrogeological Group

Aims hydro-logo.jpg

The Hydrogeological Group is a specialist group within the Geological Society of London, which represents the science of hydrogeology and the hydrogeologists that practise that science. It currently has over 1000 members of which around 350 have already attained chartered status. The Hydrogeological Group represents a major professional interest in British hydrogeology.  

The aim of the Hydrogeological Group is to advance the study and practice of hydrogeology by:

  • holding meetings (including joint meetings with other organizations)
  • encouraging education and research 
  • encouraging students to consider careers in hydrogeology 
  • representing and promoting the hydrogeological aspects of the Geological Society internationally 
  • assisting the Geological Society in its representation of professional hydrogeologists.

More about the Hydrogeological Group is available on their website.


The 2017 award of the Whitaker medal was presented to Jane Dottridge at the end of the Ineson meeting on 25 October. In presenting the award Adrian Butler, Chair of the Hydrogeological Group, explained that Jane was the first female hydrogeologist to receive the medal since it was first awarded by the Institution of Water Engineers in 1930. She was receiving it both for her services to the profession and for her role as an inspiration for other women in hydrogeology. 

In accepting the award, Jane paid tribute to colleagues who she had worked with and who had helped her in her career as well as for the opportunity to mentor, on behalf of Geol. Soc., other female geologists and hydrogeologists. She is now looking forward to taking on a new ground breaking role as chief scientific editor of the Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology in the New Year. 

Letter to the Vice Chancellor, Birmingham University from the Hydro Group committee on the proposed closure of the MSc course

Reply from Vice Chancellor outlining the continuation of the Hydrogeology MSc Programme

Comments on this web page or requests to add Hydrogeological Meetings to the Events Page should be emailed to Rolf Farrell.

Our Events

Your search for events returned the following 1 results.

Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Hydrogeological Group: The hydrogeology of sandstones

28 - 29 April 2020

Venue: The Geological Society, Burlington House, London

  • Conference
  • Specialist Group
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Hydrogeological Group Activities

Social Media



Rolf Farrell
Environment Agency, Leeds
Tel: 020 30256723

Vice Chair

Mark Lee
Atkins Global, Leeds
Tel: 0113 3066043


Kate Lambert-Smith
Dwr Cymru Welsh Water, Newport 
Tel: 01633 963 192

Funding Officer

Alex Gallagher
WSP, Shrewsbury
Tel: 01743 276 100


Claire Howarth
Mott MacDonald, Croydon
Tel: 020 87743650

Other members

Alex Davis

Dr Hamdi El-Ghonemy

Mark Fermor

Simon Cook

Dan Welch

Matthew Ascott

Alex Crow

Bryony Osbourn

Ewan Parsons

Jared West

Hannah Fraser

Elanor Ward

Norline Martin