Product has been added to the basket

Contaminated Land Group

Contaminated Land logoThe investigation and management of contaminated land is a multi-disciplinary science bringing together different geological specialisations (e.g. hydrogeology, engineering geology and geochemistry) together with other non-geological professionals (e.g. chemists, toxicologists, engineers).

This puts geoscientists at the forefront of efforts to develop the conceptual site models upon which robust and defensible contaminated land risk assessments depend, and makes the Geological Society the natural home for those specialising in this sector.

The Contaminated Land Group has the following aims:

  • To hold meetings, conferences, seminars, webinars, training courses and workshops
  • To represent and promote the Geological Society and its science strategy with respect to land contamination issues
  • To promote and support those seeking chartership (CGeol or CSci) as land contamination specialists
  • To promote and support those seeking to join the SiLC, RoGEP and SoBRA registers and taking part in the Land Forum-backed 'National Quality Mark Scheme'

Early careers

Career pathways and profiles - Contaminated Land

The Geological Society provide information on a career in contaminated land alongside career profiles for contaminated land specialists.  These are available on the main Geological Society website here.

Early career financial assistance

Each year the Geological Society awards a limited number of professional development bursaries of up to £2,000 to early career geologists, via the Distinguished Geologists Memorial Trust.

Keep in touch

Our events

Your search for events returned the following 1 results.

Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Climate Change and Sustainability: Impacts and Innovation in Contaminated Land


Venue: TBD

  • Specialist Group
  • Conference
  • Contributes to CPD
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results



Anna Hitchmough (RSK)

Vice Chair

Katherine Ashdown (Jacobs)


John Cleland (Gavin & Doherty Geosolutions)


Amy Juden (EPG Ltd)

Publicity Lead

Jenny Lightfoot (Arup)

Web Editor

Oliver Gernon (Arup)

Other members

  • Alison Carruthers (Mott MacDonald)
  • Ruth Easterbrook (Egniol Consulting Ltd)
  • Angela Haslam (Environment Agency)
  • Nik Reynolds (Geolsoc Council)
  • Mike Smith (M A Smith Environmental Consultancy)
  • Chris Swainston (Soils Ltd)
  • Rachel Thomas (Pembrokeshire Council)
  • Robert Tyler (Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Council)
  • Matt Logan (SLR)
  • John Henegan (Sellafield Ltd)

Early Career Sub-Committee


Matthew Wright (Golder)

Other Early Career Sub-Committee members

  • Abi Brooks (Vertase FLI)
  • Molly Brown (IGE Consulting)
  • Clay Durrant (Environment Agency)
  • Oliver Gernon (Arup)
  • Emily Reynolds (Mott MacDonald)
  • Harriet Wood (Jacobs)
  • Jordy Koning (CL:AiRE)
  • Lottie Harold (Arup)