Product has been added to the basket


The Society is governed by a Council of 23 members, including the President, up to three Vice-Presidents and four honorary secretaries. Council members are elected by the Fellowship.

Council is chaired by the President, who is elected for a two-year term. It meets five times each year.

All members of Council are bound by the Society’s Declarations of Interests policy.

Members of Council 2020/2021

Click on the names below to read a short biography of each member of Council.

Name Expertise Background
Dr Michael Daly (President) Continental Tectonics and Resources Academe
Mrs Joanna Alexander Geoscience, Communications, Culture Change Industry
Mr Thomas Backhouse Risk/Environmental and Geological Hazards Industry
Mr Andrew Bloodworth Economic Geology Government
Mr John Booth (Vice President) Engineering Geology Industry
Dr Jennie Gilbert Volcanology Academe
Dr Joel Gill (Secretary, Foreign and External Affairs) Social Geology, Disaster Risk Reduction, Sustainable Development Government
Mr Graham Goffey (Treasurer) Petroleum Geology Industry
Dr Kathryn Goodenough Mineral Resources, Igneous Petrology, Crustal Evolution Government
Prof James Griffiths (Secretary, Professional Matters) Engineering Geology Academe
Dr Michael Kehinde Hydrogeology Government
Prof Chris King Geoscience Educator Academe
Mr Andrew Moore Contaminated Land Industry
Prof Bryne Ngwenya Microbial Geochemistry Academe
Dr John Perry Engineering Geology Industry
Mr Nicholas Reynolds (Vice President) Contaminated Land, Geotechnical Engineering Industry
Mrs Sarah Scott Hydrogeology Government
Ms Gemma Sherwood Engineering Geology Industry
Miss Jessica Smith (Vice President, Regional Groups) Engineering Geology Industry
Dr Helen Smyth Petroleum Geology Industry
Prof Robin Strachan (Secretary, Publications) Tectonics, Geochronology Academe
Dr Alexander Whittaker (Secretary, Science) Tectonics and Landscape Dynamics Academe
Mrs Lucy Williams Petroleum Geology Industry
Dr Keith Myers (co-opted – Treasurer designate) Petroleum Geology Industry

Council meetings


  • 17 June 2020
  • 8 September 2020
  • 25 November 2020
  • 27 January 2021
  • 7 April 2021

Council meeting minutes