Product has been added to the basket

Elections to council 2021-2022

Call for nominations to serve on Council and as President

The following members of Council are due to retire at the Annual General Meeting in 2021:

  • Mr Tom Backhouse
  • Dr Andrew Bloodworth
  • Mr John Booth
  • Mr Graham Goffey
  • Prof Chris King
  • Prof Bryne Ngwenya
  • Mr Nik Reynolds
  • Dr Helen Smyth

Would you consider standing for election to Council and contributing to the work of the Society, as a member both of Council and one or more of its committees? Membership of Council enables you to influence the future of the Society in acting as a respected voice, serving science, the profession and society.

You will play an active role in the delivery of the Society's strategy, with opportunities to influence a refreshed and forward-looking science programme, to facilitate the communication of science to the media, public and policy makers, and to the certification of best practice in education and the profession. Membership of Council offers an opportunity to develop your knowledge and experience of science and governance, and contributes to Continuous Professional Development.

Council appointment is open to any Fellow irrespective of age, gender, employment or career stage. Nominations from candidates with trustee experience and expertise in scholarly publishing and fundraising are particularly welcome. We strongly encourage nominations from post-doctoral researchers, early and mid-career academic scientists.

The Society aspires that its Council membership reflects the diverse community it serves in the UK and internationally, and nominations from currently under-represented groups are especially welcome.

Details of the process are on the nomination forms which are available to download below. There is also advice to candidates which gives more information about serving on Council, and as President, as well as guidance on the information to include in your supporting statement.

Council member: nomination form
Council member: advice to candidates
President designate: nomination form
President designate: advice to candidates

Nominations must arrive no later than noon on Friday 8 January 2021, by post or e-mail.

Please contact Christina Marron via with any queries.