Product has been added to the basket

thames valley

Aims

The objectives of the Group are to further those of the Geological Society by:

  • Holding meetings of interest to members
  • Informing members of the Society's activities and promoting co-operation between geologists, and between them and kindred professions
  • Bringing to the notice of Council opinions and proposals designed to promote the interests of the Society and advising Council on matters of local interest or concern
  • Carrying out such other lawful actions as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objectives

The Group covers the area from around Banbury in the north to the Isle of Wight in the south, and from Swindon in the west to the edges of London in the east.

Activities

The Group aims to hold evening meetings monthly at several principal venues (a free buffet and nibbles are usually served!):

  • Stantec, Caversham Bridge House, Waterman Place, Reading RG1 8DN

  • Fugro GeoServices Ltd, Fugro House, Hithercroft Road, Wallingford, Oxfordshire OX10 9RB

  • AECOM, Midpoint, Alencon Link, Basingstoke RG21 7PP

  • SOCOTEC, Glossop House, Hogwood Lane, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 4QW

Meetings are mostly on a geoenvironmental or geotechnical theme, with occasional 'pure' geology topics. The Group also holds joint meetings with other groups and tries to arrange field trips.

If you have any suggestions for possible topics for meetings or other activities you would like the Group to undertake, please contact the group’s secretary.

Our events


Your search for events returned the following 1 results.

Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

TVRG: Early Career Geologist Competition

14 March 2024

Venue: In person at Stantec, Caversham Bridge House, Reading

  • Competition
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Committee

Chair

Bridgette Maphosa
tvrgchair@gmail.com

Secretary

Victoria Fry
tvrgsecretary@gmail.com

Treasurer

Victoria Fry (Temporary)
tvrgtreasurer@gmail.com

Publicity

Janice Norrie
jnorrie@southwestwater.co.uk

Committee members

Kelly Mackay
kelly.mackay@jacobs.com

Charlie Payton 
charlie.payton@socotec.com

Mark Roberts
mark.roberts975@btinternet.com

Tim Rust
TRust@dunelm.co.uk

Christine Yallup
christine.yallup@halliburton.com